Find out the mysterious meaning of 7 common yoga symbols

Yoga has many symbols and each symbol has a different meaning. If you delve into these yoga symbols, you will be surprised at the very specific meanings hidden in this discipline.

Yoga is an ancient discipline with a history of development more than 5000 years. Besides a rich history, yoga also has a collection of symbols that contain many sacred messages.

Learning about yoga symbols is not only fun, but also gives you a deeper perspective and understanding of the practice. Are you curious about the meaning of yoga symbols that often appear in the gym? Let’s find out the meanings of some yoga symbols with through the sharing below.

1. OM


“Om” or “Aum”, is the most common symbol in yoga. Om is a sacred sound often considered the sound of the universe. The sound of Om as a short “mantra” can calm the mind and central nervous system, creating a feeling of peace and tranquility for the mind and body. In addition, this sound can also reduce stress, improve concentration and enhance sleep quality.

Each part of the Om symbol has a very specific meaning:

  • The dot at the top represents the 4th state of consciousness, the state of experiencing absolute serenity and tranquility. This fourth state is said to be when someone can truly connect with God.
  • The crescent below the dot represents illusions, obstacles that prevent you from entering a state of absolute happiness.
  • The lower curve represents the waking state, the middle curve represents the dream state, and the upper curve represents the unconscious or deep sleep state.

The unconscious or deep sleep state is when the mind is inactive, neither dreaming nor wishing for anything. The waking state is the beginning state, when everyone uses the 5 senses to observe and experience the world.

The dream state is when we are aware of entering another world and are experienced through dreams. And that absolute state is when the mind neither turns outward nor withdraws inward, yet attains inner peace and bliss.

2. Lotus flower

Lotus flower

The lotus is an important symbol in many cultures, from Hinduism to Buddhism to Egypt that are related to the Lotus. This special flower grows from a dark, muddy place but is not entangled but still carries a beauty of purity and charm.

The lotus symbol in full bloom represents purity, enlightenment and new beginnings. The beautiful lotus that blooms above stagnant water and its roots growing deep in the mud symbolizes the human ability to turn difficulties into invaluable life lessons.

READ MORE:  Children who are slow to speak or scream are signs of what disease?

3. Hamsa


Hamsa is an important symbol in many cultures and has many different interpretations. This symbol is often used to decorate jewelry or in paintings and works of art.

Although there are many different interpretations of the meaning of the Hamsa symbol, most believe that this symbol brings happiness, health and wealth to the owner because Hamsa helps protect people from the darkness of the evil eye. .

Hamsa is an image of an eye embedded in an open palm, this unique symbol has had many different names throughout the ages. The Hamsa symbol is especially popular among the Jewish and Muslim communities. In the modern world, Hamsa has become a symbol of hope and peace.

When wearing it, it is believed that when the hand symbol points to the ground, the Hamsa will bring the wearer happiness, luck and health. When the hand symbol points to the sky, Hamsa will bring confidence, courage and protect people from evil.

4. Mandala


In Sanskrit, mandala means “circle”. In Buddhism and Hinduism, the circle is the most wonderful symbol, having no beginning and no end. In fine art, mandala is one of the most popular motifs with circular patterns.

When looking at the mandala symbol, the viewer will turn his attention from the outside world into focusing on himself. Specifically, it will help you relax, refresh, full of energy and develop your mind as if entering a sacred space of spirituality.

Mandala motifs also help us find harmony, love, and learn from ourselves. Mandala will awaken the inner genius instinct, helping us to be more comfortable in communicating and expressing ourselves.

5. Buddha image


The Buddha image is one of the most used Buddhist symbols in yoga. The Buddha is an image representing the possibility of enlightenment while meditating. The Buddha freed himself from worldly sufferings.

Therefore, His image reminds us that we too can do the same. For many yogis, the Buddha is an important symbol.

Because it can remind of the three important things of Buddhism: not being ignorant, not hating others and not getting angry. Buddha images can also remind you to practice yoga regularly and steadily.

6. No. 108

number 108 is a yoga symbol

In most of the world’s religions, the number 108 holds some extremely sacred meanings. This number represents integrity, spiritual perfection, and denotes the foundation of all creation. The number 108 is also important in traditional forms of yoga as well as in ancient science and architecture:

  • The distance between the Earth and the Sun is 108 times the diameter of the Sun
  • The distance between the Earth and the Moon is 108 times the diameter of the Moon
  • The diameter of the Sun is 108 times the diameter of the Earth
  • There are 108 sacred sites in India
  • There are 108 great acupoints in the human body
  • We have 108 different kinds of feelings, 36 in the past, 36 in the present, and 36 in the future.
  • The Hindu religion has 108 different names for the gods
  • In Jainism there are 108 virtues.
  • 108 is called a Harshad number because this number is divisible by the sum of its digits (1 + 0 + 8 = 9 and 108 is divisible by 9). In Sanskrit, “Harshad” means joy
  • In Sanskrit there are 54 letters and each letter has 2 forms – masculine and feminine and 54 × 2 = 108
  • There are 108 forms of meditation.
READ MORE:  How to filter water with coal and sand is simple, extremely effective

7. The elephant god Ganesh

The elephant god Ganesh is a yoga icon

Ganesh is an elephant-headed, humanoid Hindu deity representing prosperity, fortune, success, happiness and good fortune. Each part of the image of the elephant god Ganesh will have different meanings:

  • The large elephant head is a representation of knowledge and wisdom. This image reminds us of thinking
  • The little eyes of the deity remind us to focus and enjoy the little things in life.
  • The image of a small mouth and big ears reminds us that we should talk less, be quiet and listen more
  • The torso is meant to symbolize flexibility and adaptability
  • The symbol of the elephant god Ganesh usually has only one tusk, which reminds us of the good and forgets the bad.
  • Ganesh can also represent wisdom and knowledge.

Above is some useful information about common yoga symbols. Yoga is really a very useful fitness set, not only that, but this subject also contains many interesting mysteries. If you are interested but don’t know where to start, download to your device and connect with our yoga teacher.

Reference source

10 Common Yoga Symbols and Their Meanings Accessed date: 5/25/2020

Easy Healthy Lifestyle
Shopping cart